Wike moves to demolish 6000 houses in 30 Abuja settlements – See List

Spread the love

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike, has unveiled plans to demolish illegal structures disrupting the city’s master plan.

Findings reveal that about 6000 houses in 30 settlements within the capital city may be affected by Wike’s demolition drive.

It was indicate that the slums that might be affected by the urban renewal programme would include Apo Mechanic Village, Byanzhin, Dawaki, Dei Dei, Durumi, Dutse, Garki, Garki Village, Gishiri, Gwagwalape, Idu, Jabi, Kado Village, Karmo, Karshi, Karu, Katampe, Ketti Village, Kpaduma, Kabusa, Kpana Village, Kubwa, Lokogoma, Lugbe, Mabushi, Mpape, Nyanya and Piya Kasa.

Addressing a press conference at his office on Monday, Wike vowed to flatten all illegal buildings even if they belonged to a minister or an ambassador.

Also, those who acquired lands from Abuja indigenes may lose their investments as they were regarded by the FCT Administration as illegal.

Checks indicate that buildings which may have been abandoned for a long time in violation of the building code may face demolition.

The director, FCTA Department of Development Control Director, Muktar Galadima, stated that a new survey might have to be conducted to evaluate the current realities.

“We would have to go back to the field to ascertain that figure because some of them have completed their development since we gave that figure.

We would find time to go back and conduct a new survey. As of February 2022, 6,000 abandoned houses were identified,” he said.

Wike further warned that lands that had not been developed for years, or for which ground rents had not been paid would be revoked and reallocated to those who would complete the building within a short period of time.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *