“We will disobey the Party” — Uzor Kalu, Senate aspirants threaten APC NWC

Spread the love

Five aspirants for the position of Senate President for the 10th National Assembly, including Senators Orji Uzor-Kalu, Abdulaziz Yari, and Sani Musa, are currently in talks with the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the party’s national secretariat in Abuja.

Bellnewsonline.com reports that during a recent meeting, former Abia State governor, Orji Uzor-Kalu, urged the APC leadership to reconsider the micro-zoning of the Senate President position.

He expressed concern that although he had never disobeyed the party, the aggrieved aspirants might brazenly disobey the party on the day of voting.

He criticised the party’s decision to micro-zone and pencil down names, noting that while there is nothing wrong with the party zoning positions to geopolitical zones, micro-zoning is fundamentally wrong.

Recall that days earlier, the APC National Working Committee had announced the positions of Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives, naming Senator Godswill Akpabio and Tajudeen Abass, respectively.

However, the committee called for further consultations with necessary stakeholders in reaching a workable zoning formula for the National Assembly leadership positions.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *