Just In: 2 Senate Majority Leader Defects From APC to PDP States Reasons

Spread the love

Two frontline members of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senate Majority Leader, Yahaya Abdullahi, and Adamu Aliero, have officially defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The formal defections of the two APC senators from Kebbi State, were conveyed in two separate letters addressed to the President of Senate Ahmad Lawan, and read at plenary on Tuesday

Sen .Ailero and Sen.Abdullahi represent Kebbi Central and Kebbi North Senatorial Districts respectively.

Also to defect formally from the Peoples Democratic Party to the All Progressives Grand Alliance on June 15, is the Senate Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe

His defection and exit as Minority Leader was deferred, given the inability of the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, to come with his defection and resignation letter to plenary.

Although an announcement to that effect was made by Lawan, it was however agreed that Abaribe’s letter be formally read on the floor before his exit as Minority Leader, after a point of order raised by Sen. Gabriel Suswam (PDP- Benue).

The defection of the APC senators brings the total number of PDP Senators to 39 from the previous 38, with the exclusion of Abaribe, who is set to formally defect from the opposition party to APGA.

It also reduced the number of APC Senators from 71 to 69 in the Senate.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *