Full List: 40 Polling Units Where Election Will Not Hold In Imo

Spread the love

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released a list of polling units in Imo State where the election will not be held on Saturday,

Bellnews reports that the governorship election will be held this weekend in Kogi, Bayelsa and Imo State.

Ahead of the Saturday poll, the electoral Commission on Wednesday published detailed information on 40 polling units where elections will not take place.

According to INEC National Commissioner and Chairman of the Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun, the affected polling units were without registered voters.

Olumekun added that 16 political parties are sponsoring candidates for the election in Bayelsa State, while 18 parties are sponsoring candidates in both Imo and Kogi states. He noted that elections would be held in 10,470 polling units (excluding the 40 polling units without registered voters).

The commissioner explained that each political party is expected to nominate polling agents for all the polling units, as well as 649 Ward, 56 LGA, and three state collation centres.

See The Full List Of The Polling Units Below:

Olumekun said: “In continuation of the Commission’s preparations for the three off-cycle governorship elections in Bayelsa, Imo, and Kogi States, the Commission is making available two publications on the forthcoming polls as follows:

“This publication contains an infographic summary of registered voters and Permanent Voters’ Cards (PVCs) collected by local government areas (LGAs) as well as the distribution of registered voters by gender, age group, occupation, and disability.

“The publication also includes the list of candidates and detailed information on the two polling units in Bayelsa and 38 in Imo State without registered voters.

“The Commission has repeatedly said that elections will not be held in these polling units. No materials have been produced for these locations, and no officials will be deployed to them.”

After the deadline for political parties to upload the list of agents to the INEC dedicated portal, Olumekun observed that a total of 34,704 agents were uploaded for Bayelsa State, 65,274 for Imo State, and 37,995 for Kogi State, resulting in a combined count of 137,973 polling and collation agents for the three states.

According to the detailed breakdown, it was revealed that not all parties had nominated agents for the polling and collation centres across these states.

The national commissioner further highlighted that certain political parties did not have any polling unit or collation agents in specific states despite having candidates participating in the election.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *