Bauchi Assembly elects new Speaker, deputy

Spread the love

On Wednesday, Bauchi State House of Assembly members elected a new speaker, Hon Babayo Muhammad, who represents Hardawa Constituency.

Additionally, the members elected Hon. Ahmad Abdullahi, the representative of Dass Constituency, as Deputy Speaker.

These two principal officers replaced the former Speaker of the Assembly, Abubakar Y. Suleiman, and his Deputy, Jalimu Umar Dahiru, who were removed by the judgment of the Court of Appeal sitting in Abuja. The Court of Appeal also mandated rerun elections in some polling units in the constituencies challenged by the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates.

The spokesperson of the House, Hon Musa Nakwada, representing Bogoro Constituency, confirmed the new development. He stated that the election of the two principal officers was a collective decision of the members, which became necessary to fill the vacuum created by the judgments of the Court of Appeal.

He further emphasised, “As lawmakers, we will continue to work within the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *